History

SRCD Latino Caucus – Founding Committee Members

A group of the 15 Founding Committee Members was established in 2004, consisting of prominent members of the child development research community, as well as 2 graduate student members. The Latino Caucus Founding Members included the following individuals.

 

Steering Committee:

 

Michael L. López, Ph.D.

Executive Director,

National Center for Latino Child & Family Research

milopez@earthlink.net

 

Marlene Zepeda, Ph.D.

Department of Child and Family Studies

California State University, Los Angeles

mzepeda@calstatela.edu

 

James L. Rodriguez, Ph.D.

College of Education

San Diego State University

jlrodrig@mail.sdsu.edu

 

Elisa Velasquez-Andrade, Ph.D.

Department of Psychology

Sonoma State University

elisa.velasquez@sonoma.edu

 

Founding Committee Members (continued):

 

David Atencio, Ph.D.

College of Education

University of New Mexico

atencio1@unm.edu

 

Ray Buriel, Ph.D.

Department of Psychology

Department of Chicano Studies

Pomona College

rburiel@pomona.edu

 

Ana Mari Cauce, Ph.D.

Department of Psychology

University of Washington

cauce@u.washington.edu

 

Natasha Cabrera, Ph.D.

Department of Human Development

University of Maryland

ncabrera@umd.edu

 

Yvonne Caldera, Ph.D.

Human Development and Family Studies

University of North Texas

yvonne.caldera@ttu.edu

 

Cynthia Garcia Coll, Ph.D.

Department of Education

Brown University

Cynthia_Garcia_Coll@brown.edu

 

Nancy Gonzales, Ph.D.

Department of Psychology

Arizona State University

nancy.gonzales@asu.edu

 

Robert Moreno, Ph.D.

College of Health & Human Services

Syracuse University

rmoreno@syr.edu

 

Stephen M. Quintana, Ph.D.

Department of Counseling Psychology

University of Wisconsin, Madison

quintana@education.wisc.edu

 

Doré R. LaForett, M.A. (student member)

Department of Psychology

Temple University

laforett@temple.edu

 

Angel Gullon-Rivera (student member)

Human Development and Family Studies

University of Wisconsin-Madison

gullonrivera@wisc.edu

Officers of the SRCD Latino Caucus 2007-2009

  1. Chair: James L. Rodriquez
  2. Chair-Elect:  Michael L. López
  3. Secretary: Sandra Barrueco
  4. Treasurer: Pablo Chavajay
  5. Members-at-Large: Cynthia Garcia Coll, Dore La Forett, and Elisa Velasquez
  6. Student Representatives: Miquelina German, and Graciela Espinosa Hernandez